Obama kicking it with Jay-Z and Kanye

Well, I guess you gotta make your rounds, Obama. So, I’m not mad at you, player! The hip hop world holds a lot of sway (not the announcer…I’m referring to power) when it comes to getting young black people out to the voting booths. I found this info over at Hip Hop DX.

I’ve met with Jay-Z; I’ve met with Kanye. And I’ve talked to other artists about how potentially to bridge that gap. I think the potential for them to deliver a message of extraordinary power that gets people thinking (is massive),Obama told Jeff Johnson during BET‘s political special What’s In It For Us?.

Though he supports using Hip Hop as a catalyst for good, Obama is also aware of Hip Hop’s negative side too, acknowledging that messages of crime and misogyny overshadow the many positive aspects of rap music.

There are times, even on the artists I’ve named, the artists that I love, that there is a message that’s sometimes degrading to women, uses the N-word a little too frequently. But also something that I’m really concerned about is (they’re) always talking about material things about how I can get something; more money, more cars.

With the primaries in full swing, the voice of young Black America and the Hip Hop vote will continue to be a focal point in the media. So far, rappers including Common, Rhymefest and Talib Kweli have voiced their support for Obama.

LOL, who else would Common (Chi till I die) and Kweli support…Edwards? Tell me who Puffy and Soulja Boy are supporting (other that liquor companies, clothing lines, and labels that promote horrible messages to kids in popular music).

4 Comments

Filed under activism, african american, black, black man, celebrity, community, culture, government, hip hop, music, news, opinion, politics

4 responses to “Obama kicking it with Jay-Z and Kanye

  1. I posted the BET interview with Barack over on my youtube page.

    http://www.youtube.com/franktalk

  2. Carren Foxe

    I thought that I would see more Hip Hop artists come out like Oprah and make a stand whether for Obama or Hillary. The important thing was to get the young people registered and then vote in the Primaries. Without receiving an invitation from either candidate.

    Especially when the number of young people who will be watching Superbowl 42 will witness the first Black official to be part of the Referee Team in Superbowl History. We need the young hip hop generation to vote and not be the generation that only knows how to listen to rap and not anything else.

  3. Ohmainzte

    “I thought that I would see more Hip Hop artists come out like Oprah and make a stand whether for Obama or Hillary.”

    Oprah is not a Hip Hop artist dumbass…-_- and lots of them have already said they support Obama if it wasn’t already obvious…

  4. NO GOING TO WORK WITH A PICTURE OF OBAMA WITH A SIGN THAT READS HNIC!!! WE FINALLY MADE IT LOL!

Leave a Reply

