African American Live 2 on PBS

I love this series! I even purchased a DNA kit last year and discovered that my paternal ancestry goes back to Cameroon and my mother’s ancestry is Asian (that was a blower because we know of no Asians in our family…got to love that DNA!) This season explores the genealogy of poet Maya Angelou, author Bliss Broyard, actor Don Cheadle, actor Morgan Freeman, theologian Peter Gomes, publisher Linda Johnson Rice, athlete Jackie Joyner-Kersee, radio personality Tom Joyner, comedian Chris Rock, music legend Tina Turner, and college administrator Kathleen Henderson, who was selected from more than 2,000 applicants to have her family history researched and DNA tested alongside the series’ well-known guests. The first 2 of the 4 episodes came on last night, but will be re-aired this weekend. Check PBS for your local listing.

5 Comments

Filed under african american, celebrity, civil war, community, culture, events, history, slavery

5 responses to “African American Live 2 on PBS

  1. Lele19106

    Wasn’t Linda Johnson Rice adopted? I assumed this would be a search for her biological parents. Was I wrong?

  2. I just watched the slavery piece that centered around Robert Smalls. Powerful film!!

  3. ktruth

    She was adopted, but the genealogy is from her adopted parents (John and Eunice Johnson). I guess to her they are her real family or perhaps the only ones who mattered.

  4. I can’t wait to see part 2 of this. I saw the 1st one with Chris Tucker. I have always wanted to trace back my roots.

  5. I founded this to be one of the best programs yet. It was very interesting and informative. The only thing – i would like to see the interviews of more common people or to give the african american viewers the tools/information to begin their own search, since some may not be able to afford to hire someone to obtain this type of historical information.

    Keep us updated
    Smckee

Leave a Reply

