RIP Sean Levert

Love goes out to the Levert family as they have lost another son, Sean.  One of three members of the R&B trio LeVert and son of O’Jays singer Eddie Levert, has died after falling ill while serving a jail term for approx. $85,000 in owed child support (non-support). He was 39.Levert was sent to the Cuyahoga County jail last week for failing to pay child support. He died at Lutheran Hospital in Cleveland late Sunday, less than an hour after he was taken there from the jail.

His brother Gerald Levert, died in 2006 at age 40 of an accidental mix of prescription and over-the-counter drugs.

From what I understand his sentence was 1 year and 10 months.  I didn’t even know they would give you that much time for child support!!!  AND…from what I’ve been told…you still owe the money when you get out.  My question though, with all due respect, is, “Why didn’t his family just pay the bill?” 

Source: AP  

6 Comments

Filed under african american, black, black man, celebrity, children, family, music, news, opinion

6 responses to “RIP Sean Levert

  1. DONALD SMITH

    i DON’T BELIEVE YOU CAN’T UNDERSTAND! WHO DO YOU REALLY MEAN WHEN YOU SAY “THE FAMILY” I’LL BET THAT YOU ARE NOT TALKING ABOUT THE “FAMILY” TO WHICH THE MONEY WAS OWED, SO WHO ARE YOU REFERING TO???? wHO MADE THE BABIES??? wHY WOULD YOU THINK SOMEONE OTHER THAN THE FATHER ACCEPT THAT RESPONSIBILITY? YOU SOUND IRRESPONSIBLE AND DEADBEAT AND A POOR EXCUSE FOR A MAN!!!!

  2. Donald, count down from 10 to 1. LOL

    I’m a woman, sweetheart. If my family had a good deal of money and we knew that my brother could do 2 years in jail away from his fam and kids…we would step up and make him accountable (or at least try).

    Family is family. Those 3 children are Leverts too. So, I’m sure that Sean’s family cares about their welfare. For some reason I think being put in jail wasn’t good for his health…but maybe I’m crazy.

    If that sounds irresponsible to you…eh…

  3. Whoa…

    I just heard of Sean’s passing and feel bad for both sides of this family: the Leverts and Sean’s kids…it’s bad enough that he wasn’t supporting his children financially, now they won’t even have him in their life, period…sad…

  4. I met Sean Levert in the early 90s when I was working in radio. Nice guy. My prayers go out to Mr. Eddie Levert and family for this lost of two sons in such a short period of time.

  5. Not knowing the “real” story in regards to why the dude was behind $85 gees, but damn would we be talking about Pookie up the block or Ray-Ray from uptown. To me “it appears” that he was just another sad brother not being a man and not taking care of his responsibilities. Of course there may be extenuating circumstances that the general public (“us”) may never know of which caused him to fall so far behind, but in my experience, the system and the formula used to calculate the payment is fair and justified.

    Sista put your blade back in its sheath, we don’t want you cutting anybody up in here. 🙂

  6. Lol @ Blkirish…putting the gun down.

    I’m just saying, family should support family!

Leave a Reply

