Reflections on Martin Luther King Jr.

Today marks the 40th anniversary of the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. It’s a day of reflection for me, because though I find many things to complain about, I am reminded of even the right to complain that those before me didn’t have the privilege of doing as freely. Those before me dealt with outright racism, overt hatred, senseless violence, all as a result of the color of their skin. This country isn’t perfect in 2008, but I take this moment to reflect on someone who knew he would die, but stated that “a man who won’t die for something is not fit to live”. I admire his resolve and appreciate his life. He was truly a savior, Moses for his people and this country and the world. I am truly blessed to experience the fruit of his work, to reap where I have not sown, to be a part of the prophecy that came out of his mouth. I am reminded of the price paid for my freedom and my responsibility to honor the blood sacrificed for me.

Blessing –

1 Comment

Filed under african american, black history, black man, civil rights, events, hate, history, love, opinion, racism, society

One response to “Reflections on Martin Luther King Jr.

  1. I myself am thankful for what he and those before and after him did for our people. We still have a long way to go, but the door was opened for us by him. I had a chance last year to visit the hotel in which he died. I felt the pain and the struggle being there. I also visit the Civil Rights museum, I told my mother I am thankful. I don’t know what type of person I would have been growing up in those days.

Leave a Reply

