I might have to put my DC apartment on Blast

Ok, so when you don’t feel happy and comfortable in your home, apartment or otherwise, it can take a toll on how you feel all day and your overall disposition. I just moved in to an apartment real close to Fort Totten Metro Station and I’m going through hell.  I want to get out of the lease and I’ve been there less than 2 weeks.  The word is LOUD!  Crazy loud.  I think my apartment building was made out of tissue paper.

I went through a lil taste of hell trying to get a mortgage on a NE condo (Sept to Nov).  The deal fell through when the appraisal came up $13,000 too short.  The reason for the shortfall was clear…the appraiser was looking at unequal comps.  In the end…deal fell through.  It was a painful experience.  I was hoping to move into a new apartment and relax.  I lived in this building before so I thought things would be ok.  The issue is that I used to live on the top floor in a corner unit.  Now I’m in a high traffic area of the building and the clientele on my level is very interesting.

I’m trying to work things out and there is a termination clause in the lease.  It requires 60 day notice and one months rent though.  If I moved and had to comply with that…I’ll be out approx 2000-2300 dollars (depending on when I move).  If I have to be out that much money because they don’t have the decency to have a 30 day satisfaction clause (I know, I should have checked before I moved in), I’m going to have to use all my social media skills to make my disdain known.  I know the law…no defamation.  However, I have the right to air my complaint and I will record the noise and let the public weigh in.   Shoot!  I think it would be a great experiment and a lot of people have the same complaints about where they live.

They know my complaints.  I should find out by tomorrow whether they will let me out in 30 days and if I will have to pay a fee.  I’ll keep ya posted.

Leave a comment

Filed under chocolate city, d.c., injustice, opinion, washington, washington dc

Leave a Reply

